Make your own free website on
1998 Tour ng Pilipinas
April 27
Stage 10 253 kms
Subic-Dagupan City
Davadilla rules 10th stage,
retains overall leadership
By Chito Dela Vega Philippine Daily Inquirer

Stage winners: 1. Querimit, A. (RP); 2. Hamad, MM (Mal); 3. Espiritu, V. (RP); 4. Davadilla, W. (RP); 5. Espiritu, V. (RP); 6. Luzon, B. (NE); 7. Querimit, A. (RP); 8. Domingo, E. (RP); 9a. Tang XZ (CH); 9b. Pan GC (CH); 10. Davadilla, W. (RP). 

Top 10 general classification: 1. Davadilla, W. (RP) 41 hrs., 48 mins., 41 secs.; 2. Querimit, A. (RP) 9 secs. behind; 3. Tsen, SH (Mal) 2:13; 4. Espiritu, G. (Pan) 10:15; 5. Barnachea, S. (Pan) 10:17; 6. Domingo, E. (RP) 11:08;7. Valdez, P. (Nec) 12:49; 8. Guieb, C. (Nlu) 12:57; 9. Shimbo, A. (Jpn) 19:10; 10. Oconer, N. (Man) 22:52. 

Top 10 stage finishers: 1. Davadilla, W. (RP) five hours, 56 mins, 32 secs; 2. Basibas, L. (SL) same time; 3. Quirimit, A. (RP) same time; 4. Domingo, E. (RP) same time; 5. Luzon, B. (NE) same time; 6. Tsen SH (Mal) same time; 7. Valdez, P. (NE) smae time; 8. Pan GC (CH) same time; 9. Barlis, N. (NE) same time; 10. Primero, A. (NE) five seconds. 

 DAGUPAN CITY, Philippines (via PLDT)óWarren Davadilla survived another day with the yellow jersey still in his possession, and instead of watching the overall lead just slip away, fought back hard to rule yesterday's back-breaking 10th stage of the Marlboro Centennial Tour. 

It was the most suspenseful climax in the race so far, with the diminutive Davadilla sneaking from the right flank to nose out nine other riders in the photo finish. 

Davadilla thus claimed his second stage victory in the Tour and continued to wear the yellow jersey he has had since the second stage in Cebu last April 17. 

With him in that nine-man bunch was a virtual all-star unit. They were second overall Arnel Quirimit, Enrique Domingo, Bernard Luzon of Nueva Ecija and China's Pan Guangchun, who are all previous stage winners, as well as Southern Luzon's Leonardo Basibas, third overall Tsen Seong Hoong of Malaysia, Placido Valdez and Neil Barlis, both of Nueva Ecija, 

Basibas claimed second, while Quirimit third. 

Because of the time bonuses for stage winners, Davadilla's overnight three-second advantage over Quirimit increased to nine seconds. 

Third overall Tsen of Malaysia now trails by two minutes and 13 seconds. 

Davadilla said he really wanted to hand the stage win and, in effect, the overall lead to teammate Quirimit, since this was the latter's home province. But almost everybody in that lead group had winning on their mind. 

"Sa last 2 kms sabi ko sa kanya (Quirimit) huwag ka munang bumwelo muna malayo pa. Nang bumwelo si Quirimit may lumalabas na iba. Kaysa sa iba mapunta ang stage sa amin na lang,'' said Davadilla. 

Quirimit was visibly disappointed after the race, feeling he had let his fellow Pangasinenses down. ''Talagang gusto ko sana. Pag may pagkakataon sa susunod na lang. Di bale malapit na yung mga ahon, baka sakaling makuha na,'' he said. 

The long, punishing route again proved too much for two riders from the Visayas--Arnel Bas and Leopoldo Lechedo, who both quit the race. 

Defending champion Wong Kam Po, who has been bothered by respiration problem, hobbled a dismal 54th yesterday. He is now 30th overall, nearly an hour behind Davadilla. 

Today's 11th stage will be from here to Vigan, Ilocos Sur, a 213-2 km route passing through the most arid parts of Luzon
Click here for complete Stage 10 results.